2014 - 15 Scholarship Program

In 2013, The Aimia | AGO Photography Prize expanded to include the Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Scholarship Program. Each year, this program awards three $7,000 CAD scholarships to undergraduate students who are entering their final year of study at select Canadian academic institutions. The scholarship is the first major scholarship program administered by a major Canadian art and culture prize.

The Scholarships are awarded to students working in photography who have shown extraordinary potential throughout their undergraduate studies. For the purposes of the Scholarship Program, “photography” is defined broadly: submissions can include video, photo-based installation, and other lens-based artwork.

For the 2014-15 academic year, our partner institutions were: ACAD University, Ryerson University, Concordia University, Emily Carr University of Art + Design, Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University (NSCAD), Alberta College of Art and Design (ACAD), Université du Québec, University of Manitoba, University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, University of Lethbridge, University of Saskatchewan, York University, University of Guelph, and University of Ottawa.

More than 100 students applied to the program, and each academic partner institution formed a jury of three faculty to review their students' submissions and select one finalist for submission to the 2014-15 Scholarship Program Jury.

This year's jury included: Adelina Vlas, Associate Curator, Contemporary Art (AGO), writer and curator Gabrielle Moser and 2014 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Winner Lisa Oppenheim.

The jury reviewed the work of the fifteen finalists and selected three winners:

  • Lodoe Laura, Ryerson University
  • Alison Postma, University of Guelph
  • Graham Wiebe, University of Manitoba

The three winners will each receive $7000 CAD and will receive a trip alongside a faculty member to Toronto to attend the 2015 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Winner Announcement Gala and meet the artists shortlisted for the Prize. Additionally, the home institutions of the winning students will each receive $1000 CAD honorariums.