Scholarship Program

The Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Scholarship Program awards three $7,000 CAD scholarships each year to students entering the final year of study toward Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees with a focus or major in photography at select Canadian academic institutions. The Scholarships are awarded to students working in photography who have shown extraordinary potential throughout their undergraduate studies. Additionally, the home institutions of the winning students will each receive $1000 CAD honoraria.

For the 2016-17 academic year, our partner institutions were: OCAD University, University of Ottawa, Simon Fraser University, Ryerson University, Concordia University, Emily Carr University of Art + Design, Nova Scotia College of Art and Design University (NSCAD), Alberta College of Art and Design (ACAD), Université du Québec à Montréal, University of Manitoba, University of Saskatchewan, University of Lethbridge, University of Toronto, York University, University of Guelph and University of British Columbia.

More than 100 students applied to the program, and each academic partner institution formed a jury of three faculty to review their students' submissions and select one finalist for submission to the 2016-17 Scholarship Program Jury. This year’s jury included Sandra Brewster, multi-disciplinary artist; Julie Crooks, the AGO’s Assistant Curator, Photography; and Sophie Hackett, the AGO’s Curator, Photography and lead juror of the 2017 Aimia | AGO Photography Prize.

The jury reviewed the work of the finalists and selected three winners:

  • Seamus Gallagher (NSCAD University)
  • Curtiss Randolph (Ryerson University)
  • Alessandro Seccareccia (Concordia University)

The three winners will each receive $7,000 CAD and will receive a trip alongside a faculty member to Toronto in December 2017 to attend the Aimia | AGO Photography Prize Winner Announcement Gala and meet the artists shortlisted for the Prize.

  • Seamus Gallagher

  • Curtiss Randolph

  • Alessandro Seccareccia